h1

History.

November 5, 2008

0154147850085

Yesterday, Former Senator Barack Obama became the 44th President of the United States. It truely was an historic event. Either way actually, no matter who won, it would have been historic. I believe McCain delivered a great conceding speech.  I never doubted that he was a good man, but it is Obama’s time.

“If there is anyone out there who still doubts that America is a place where all things are possible, who     still wonders if the dream of our founders is alive in our time, who still questions the power of our democracy, tonight is your answer.”

Yes we got our answer.  The answer is YES WE CAN. Change has come upon us. I am to be honest still rather in shock. It has not hit me that Barack Obama is our next President. For those who did not support Obama it is time to do so. To support him in his presidency, like we do with the presidents before him.

image019

This election was my first time voting. WooHoo!! Go me. I felt great honor when I voted because many before me could not do the same thing.  Being a Filipino American woman I probably would not be able to vote before the 15th and 19th amendments were in place. So, to go out and honor those before me who fought for me to be able to vote was somewhat surreal. We never thing about the rights we have now and how we got them. But we should remember them and those who fought for it because if none of them took a stance to achieve equality for all our great nation would not be what it is today.

Congratulations President Obama.

– Colette

Leave a Reply

